CTP logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CTP Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • ATMAE does not publicly disclose an aggregate CTP pass rate in the issuer sources we reviewed; any specific percentage you see is unsourced.
  • Passing requires at least 72 cumulative points, not 72%, and no valid percentage conversion exists while the question total is disputed.
  • The exam is open book with printed references, 120 minutes long, and retakes cost USD 25 with no waiting period.
  • Applied Mathematics, Blueprint Reading, Industrial Safety and Quality Control carry the largest published question allocations in the study guide.

What the Issuer Actually Publishes About Results

Candidates searching for a CTP pass rate usually want one number: the share of test-takers who succeed. For the ATMAE Certified Technical Professional, that number is not available. In the issuer sources reviewed for this article (the credential page, the Certification FAQ, the fee schedule and the 28-page study guide), no aggregate pass rate, cohort pass rate or first-attempt pass rate is published.

That absence matters. A site that quotes you "a 68% pass rate" or "a 90% first-time success rate" for this credential is not drawing on a figure ATMAE has released. Treat any such figure as marketing or guesswork until it cites a primary source.

What this page will and won't do: We won't invent a pass rate. Instead, we lay out what the issuer does publish (passing points, format, retake policy, domain allocations) so you can judge your own readiness with real structural facts. For a broader view of difficulty, see our guide on how hard the CTP exam is.

Which CTP We Mean (and Which Pass-Rate Pages to Ignore)

"CTP" is a crowded acronym. This article is exclusively about the Certified Technical Professional offered through the Association of Technology, Management, and Applied Engineering (ATMAE). It is an industrial and applied-technology credential aimed largely at students in related two-year and four-year programs. It is not the Certified Treasury Professional from the Association for Financial Professionals, which is a separate treasury credential with its own exam and its own statistics.

The identity problem leaks into search results. Several third-party pages use the exact name "Certified Technical Professional" but describe networking, system administration or IT security content, none of which appears in the ATMAE outline. Others attach an unsupported percentage pass mark or a salary premium. If a page's topic list includes subnetting or server administration instead of blueprint reading and fluid power, it is describing something other than this exam, and its pass-rate claims should be discarded along with the rest of its content.

If you are still orienting yourself, our explainers on what CTP certification is and what CTP stands for cover the naming issue in more depth.

Passing Points vs. Pass Rate: Two Different Things

Candidates often conflate the passing score with the pass rate. They are unrelated measurements:

  • Passing score is the threshold you must reach on your own attempt. ATMAE's credential page states at least 72 cumulative points.
  • Pass rate is the proportion of all candidates who clear that threshold. ATMAE has not published it.

Note the wording: 72 points, not 72 percent. It is tempting to divide 72 by 150 or by 160 and announce a percentage, but that conversion is not justified. The current credential page lists 150 multiple-choice questions, while the linked study guide lists 160, and neither identifies the difference as unscored items. Without knowing the total number of scored items or how points map to questions, any percentage would be fabricated. For the fuller discussion, read CTP Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

The study guide also describes composite passing, meaning your result is based on the overall total rather than a separate minimum in every section. In practice that lets a strong domain offset a weaker one, though it is not a reason to skip any domain entirely.

ConceptWhat the issuer publishesWhat remains unknown
Passing thresholdAt least 72 cumulative pointsPercentage equivalent; scored vs. unscored item counts
Section minimumsComposite passing described; no separate requirement per sectionWhether any internal weighting applies beyond question allocation
Aggregate pass rateNot disclosed in retrieved sourcesEverything
First-attempt vs. retake successNot disclosedEverything
Exam length120 minutesWhether timing differs by delivery method

Why the Exam Specs Disagree With Each Other

A fair reading of a pass rate requires knowing what is being passed, and ATMAE's own documents contain internal inconsistencies. Being aware of them keeps you from over-trusting any single number you see quoted.

Documented conflicts in the issuer materials

  • Question count: the credential page specifies 150 multiple-choice questions; the study guide specifies 160.
  • Number of content areas: the guide's introduction says five major areas, but its enumeration and closing note identify ten. The credential page lists thirteen overlapping labels (such as Safety and Industrial Safety, Quality and Quality Control).
  • Section order: the guide's sample-question section numbers reverse Fluid Power and Welding relative to its own content table.
  • Guide age: the guide carries a 2014 copyright, and no separately identified current exam version or formal reconciliation was verified.

None of this means the exam is unfair or unreliable; it means the published materials were assembled at different times. The practical response is to prepare against the detailed ten-heading outline while keeping the thirteen-label list in mind as the issuer's own looser description. Our complete guide to all 10 CTP content areas walks through that outline domain by domain.

How Open-Book Format and Retakes Shape Outcomes

Even without a published pass rate, two structural features tell you a lot about how this exam behaves for candidates.

Open book, with limits

Printed references are permitted; internet and software references are not. That rule changes what "preparing" means. You are not memorizing every formula and tolerance. You are building a reference set you can navigate quickly inside a 120-minute window. Candidates who walk in with a disorganized stack of pages tend to spend their time searching instead of solving. Tabbing, indexing and a one-page formula index per domain are the real preparation. Calculator permission was not verified in the sources reviewed, so confirm the current rule with ATMAE before test day rather than assuming.

Low-friction retakes

Retakes cost USD 25, and the FAQ permits unlimited attempts without a waiting period. Removing the waiting period reduces the stakes of any single sitting. A first attempt that exposes weak spots is cheaper to recover from here than on many credentials. That does not change the pass rate we can cite (still undisclosed), but it does mean an initial miss is a recoverable event rather than a months-long setback.

Key Takeaway

Because the exam is open book and retakes are inexpensive, the decisive variable is usually how fast you can locate and apply information, not how much you memorized. Build and time-test your printed reference set before you register.

Where Points Are Concentrated Across the Ten Domains

ATMAE prints no percentage weights, so none should be inferred. It does, however, list question allocations in the study guide, in domain order: 20, 20, 20, 10, 20, 15, 15, 15, 15 and 10, totaling 160. Because of the 150/160 conflict, treat these as historical allocations rather than a guaranteed current blueprint.

DomainGuide allocation (questions)Relative size
1. Applied Mathematics20Tied for largest
2. Blueprint Reading20Tied for largest
3. Industrial Safety20Tied for largest
4. Production10Smallest tier
5. Quality Control20Tied for largest
6. Industrial Electricity15Middle tier
7. Fluid Power15Middle tier
8. Welding15Middle tier
9. Machining15Middle tier
10. Industrial Maintenance10Smallest tier

Four domains (Applied Mathematics, Blueprint Reading, Industrial Safety and Quality Control) tie for the largest allocation. Together they account for the bulk of the historical question pool, which is why they deserve the most preparation hours. At the same time, the middle-tier trade domains (Industrial Electricity, Fluid Power, Welding and Machining) add up to a substantial share, so ignoring them in favor of the "big four" is a poor bet, especially since you only need 72 cumulative points.

Where open-book candidates gain or lose time

Different domains reward different kinds of reference preparation.

  • Applied Mathematics: a clean formula sheet and worked examples for geometry, trigonometry and unit conversion save the most time per page.
  • Blueprint Reading: symbol keys, tolerance conventions and view-projection notes are fast to look up but slow to reconstruct.
  • Industrial Safety: mostly conceptual, so memorized principles beat lookup.
  • Quality Control: formulas for control limits and capability benefit from a labeled reference page.

How to Read Vendor Success Claims

Since no official pass rate exists, the vacuum gets filled by third parties. A few patterns are worth recognizing:

  • Scope mismatch. Some pages carrying the exact name "Certified Technical Professional" describe IT infrastructure, networking or security topics that do not match the ATMAE industrial outline. Their statistics, however precise, describe a different exam.
  • Unsupported percentages. A claimed pass mark expressed as a percentage cannot be reconciled with ATMAE's stated 72 cumulative points, given the unresolved question total.
  • Success-guarantee marketing. Product pages that advertise high success rates for paid question banks usually cite no methodology. Alignment to the actual ATMAE outline is often unverified.
  • Salary promises. Pages implying a guaranteed pay premium have no issuer-verified salary survey behind them. For an honest treatment, see our CTP salary analysis and the ROI discussion.
A quick credibility test: before trusting any CTP statistic, check three things. Does the page cite ATMAE or a primary document? Do its topics match the ten industrial domains? Does its passing mark match "72 cumulative points" rather than an invented percentage? If the answer to any is no, move on.

A Domain-Ordered Prep Sequence

Because the real bottleneck is open-book navigation and broad coverage across ten trade and technical areas, sequence your preparation by domain rather than by generic habit. The sketch below front-loads the large, calculation-heavy areas and builds your reference set as you go. Adjust the pacing to your own calendar; for a fuller walkthrough see the CTP study guide.

Week 1

Applied Mathematics and Blueprint Reading

  • Build a formula index and a symbol/tolerance key for your printed references.
  • Work timed problem sets to see how long lookups take.
Week 2

Industrial Safety and Quality Control

  • Memorize core safety principles; tab your quality-control formulas.
  • Practice interpreting charts and limits quickly.
Week 3

Industrial Electricity, Fluid Power, Welding

  • Create one-page summaries per domain for fast reference.
  • Note that the guide's sample-question numbering swaps Fluid Power and Welding; follow the content table.
Week 4

Machining, Production, Industrial Maintenance, then full timed run

  • Cover the smaller-allocation domains.
  • Take a full 120-minute practice session using only printed materials.

You can pressure-test this sequence with the free questions on our main practice test site, which help you find which domains slow you down most.

Cost and Eligibility Context for Your Decision

A pass rate is ultimately an input to a cost-benefit decision, so the fee structure is relevant. From the issuer's fee schedule (updated May 21, 2026), individual certification pricing, which includes membership and certification upon passing, is:

  • Student member: USD 25; student nonmember: USD 50.
  • Professional member: USD 50; professional nonmember: USD 150.
  • Group assessment: USD 25 per student, excluding membership and certification; a passing candidate must apply for Certification Only within one year.
  • Group certification: USD 75 per student, including both.
  • Retake: USD 25. Optional review sessions: USD 25 for members, USD 50 for nonmembers.

Membership is required for certification. Annual renewal requires student membership (USD 25) plus USD 25 per certification, or professional membership (USD 100) plus USD 35 per certification. Initial CTP has no published PDU minimum. Our CTP certification cost breakdown expands on these numbers.

On eligibility, the current FAQ ties CTP to passing the exam while being in the final year of a related four-year degree or the second year of a related two-year associate degree. The older guide describes broader routes, but their continued availability was not confirmed, so verify the current rules in CTP requirements and with ATMAE before you register. Exam registration details are on the issuer's exams page.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the pass rate for the ATMAE CTP exam?

ATMAE has not publicly disclosed an aggregate pass rate in the issuer sources reviewed. Any specific percentage attached to this credential is unsourced, and many such figures belong to unrelated IT or treasury exams that share the acronym.

Is 72 the same as a 72% passing score?

No. The credential page requires at least 72 cumulative points, not 72%. Because the question total is disputed (150 on the credential page, 160 in the study guide) and scored versus unscored items are unverified, no percentage conversion is justified.

Can I retake the CTP exam if I fail?

Yes. Retakes cost USD 25, and the FAQ permits unlimited attempts without a waiting period, which lowers the stakes of any single attempt.

Is the CTP exam open book?

Printed references are permitted, while internet and software references are prohibited. Calculator permission was not verified, so confirm the current rule with ATMAE before test day.

Which domains should I prioritize given there is no pass rate to guide me?

The study guide's question allocations give the best structural signal: Applied Mathematics, Blueprint Reading, Industrial Safety and Quality Control tie for the largest share. Still cover all ten domains, since you need 72 cumulative points across the whole exam and the allocations may not match the current version exactly.

Without an official pass rate, your best predictor of success is evidence you generate yourself: timed practice, an organized printed reference set and honest domain-by-domain scoring. Start with the free CTP practice questions, then revisit the one-page CTP review to confirm which areas still need work.

Ready to pass your CTP exam?

Put this into practice with free CTP questions across every exam domain.