CTP logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CTP Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts

TL;DR
  • CTP here means Certified Technical Professional, an industrial and technology credential from ATMAE, not a treasury or IT certification.
  • The written exam runs 120 minutes, is open book for printed references only, and requires at least 72 cumulative points.
  • ATMAE's linked study guide lists ten content areas, and Applied Mathematics, Blueprint Reading, Industrial Safety and Quality Control carry the largest...
  • Issuer sources conflict on question count (150 versus 160), so rely on the exam registration page for current format.

Which CTP This Cheat Sheet Covers

The acronym "CTP" is shared by several unrelated credentials, and that causes real confusion when you search for study material. This page covers Certified Technical Professional, offered by the Association of Technology, Management, and Applied Engineering (ATMAE). It is built for students and early-career people in technology, manufacturing, and applied engineering programs.

It is not the Certified Treasury Professional credential from the Association for Financial Professionals, and it is not an IT or networking certification, even though some third-party sites label their networking and system-administration questions with the same name. If a practice resource asks you about subnetting or server administration, it does not match the ATMAE outline. For a plain-language orientation, see What Is CTP Certification? and What Does CTP Stand For?.

Why the identity check matters: Study time is limited. Before you buy or download any prep material, confirm that its topics map to the ten ATMAE content areas below. Mismatched material will teach you the wrong subject entirely.

The Exam at a Glance

This table collects the facts that are consistently supported by ATMAE's published sources. Items the issuer does not state publicly are marked as unverified rather than guessed.

ItemWhat the issuer sources support
CredentialCertified Technical Professional (CTP), awarded by ATMAE
FormatMultiple-choice written exam, administered online with proctor oversight
Duration120 minutes (two hours)
Passing standardAt least 72 cumulative points; composite scoring with no separate pass requirement for each section
ReferencesOpen book: printed references allowed; internet and software references prohibited
Calculator rulesNot verified in the retrieved sources; confirm before exam day
AccommodationsADA timing accommodations may be arranged
RetakesUnlimited attempts, no waiting period, USD 25 per retake
Aggregate pass rateNot publicly disclosed by ATMAE

Note the wording on the score: the requirement is 72 cumulative points, not 72 percent. Because the total question count is disputed (see the next section), converting that figure into a percentage would be speculation. Our CTP Passing Score guide goes deeper, and the difficulty picture is covered in How Hard Is the CTP Exam?.

Where the Issuer Sources Disagree

A good cheat sheet flags uncertainty instead of hiding it. ATMAE's own materials contain several inconsistencies that candidates should know about, mostly because the study guide is dated 2014 while the credential page was updated more recently.

Known conflicts in ATMAE's published materials

  • Question count: the current credential page specifies 150 multiple-choice questions, while the linked study guide specifies 160. Neither identifies the gap as unscored items.
  • Number of content areas: the guide's introduction mentions five major areas, but its enumeration and closing note identify ten. The credential page lists thirteen overlapping labels, including Engineering Graphics, Production Planning & Control, Safety and Quality alongside the more detailed names.
  • Sample question order: the guide's sample-question section numbers Fluid Power and Welding in the reverse order of its content table.
  • Eligibility routes: the older guide describes broader paths than the current FAQ, and it is unconfirmed whether those broader routes remain available.

The practical takeaway: treat the ten-area outline as your study map, since it is the most detailed issuer-published breakdown, but confirm the current exam format on ATMAE's exam registration page before you schedule. Do not try to blend the thirteen credential-page labels into a made-up blueprint. Our complete guide to all 10 CTP content areas walks through the outline in detail.

The Ten Content Areas, Condensed

The study guide's published question allocations, in outline order, are 20, 20, 20, 10, 20, 15, 15, 15, 15 and 10, totaling 160. ATMAE prints no official percentage weights, so none are assigned here. These allocations are historical and are not asserted to describe the current 150-question format, but they remain the best available signal for where to spend your hours.

The four heavy areas

Applied Mathematics, Blueprint Reading, Industrial Safety and Quality Control tie for the largest allocation in the guide. Together they account for a large share of the questions, so they deserve the most study time.

Domain 1: Applied Mathematics

Expect shop-floor and technical arithmetic rather than abstract theory: unit conversions, ratios, geometry for areas and volumes, and trigonometry for angles and dimensions.

  • Practice setting up word problems quickly and checking units
  • Know which formulas you can look up in a printed reference versus which you should know cold

Domain 2: Blueprint Reading

Interpreting engineering drawings is a core technical skill. Focus on views, dimensions, tolerances, symbols and title-block information.

  • Practice reading orthographic views and visualizing the part
  • Learn standard dimensioning and tolerance conventions so you can decode them fast

Domain 3: Industrial Safety

Workplace hazard recognition, protective equipment, safe procedures and the general framework of occupational safety practice.

  • Review hazard categories and the logic of controlling them
  • Expect scenario-style questions asking for the safest or most appropriate response

Domain 5: Quality Control

Measurement, inspection, and process control concepts that keep manufactured parts within specification.

  • Know common inspection instruments and what they measure
  • Understand basic statistical process control ideas at a working level

The mid-weight and lighter areas

  • Domain 4: Production carries the smallest allocation tier. Think workflow, scheduling and the planning side of manufacturing.
  • Domain 6: Industrial Electricity covers basic circuits, components, and electrical safety fundamentals relevant to plant environments.
  • Domain 7: Fluid Power covers hydraulics and pneumatics: components, symbols and system behavior.
  • Domain 8: Welding covers processes, equipment and joint fundamentals.
  • Domain 9: Machining covers common machine tools, cutting operations and measurement.
  • Domain 10: Industrial Maintenance carries the smallest allocation tier alongside Production. Think preventive maintenance concepts and troubleshooting logic.
Watch the lighter areas too: a smaller allocation does not mean ignorable. Because scoring is composite, you can offset a weak area with strength elsewhere, but a blank spot in Welding or Fluid Power still costs you points you could have collected cheaply.

Open-Book Strategy for Printed References

The CTP is open book, but only for printed references. Internet access and software references are prohibited. That changes how you should prepare, because the skill being tested is partly finding information quickly, not just recalling it.

Build a reference you can navigate in seconds

  1. Choose one or two printed handbooks that cover math tables, formulas and general technical data, and learn their layout in advance.
  2. Add tabs or sticky markers to the sections you expect to use most: unit conversions, geometry formulas, tolerance tables, fluid power symbols, electrical formulas.
  3. Practice looking things up under a timer. With 120 minutes for the whole exam, a slow lookup habit can quietly eat your margin.
  4. Before exam day, confirm with ATMAE what counts as an acceptable printed reference, since specifics beyond "printed is allowed" were not verified.

Key Takeaway

Open book does not mean easy. The questions reward candidates who already understand the material and use references only to confirm a formula or value. If you must look up every concept, time will run short.

Calculator permission was not verified in the sources we reviewed. Ask ATMAE directly or check your exam confirmation instructions, and do not assume either way. For a full preparation plan, see our CTP Study Guide, and you can practice the question style on the main practice test site.

Fees, Membership, and Maintenance

ATMAE membership is required for certification, and the individual fee includes both membership and certification upon passing. Fees below reflect the issuer's certification fee page as last updated May 21, 2026.

CategoryCost
Individual, student memberUSD 25
Individual, student nonmemberUSD 50
Individual, professional memberUSD 50
Individual, professional nonmemberUSD 150
Group assessment (per student)USD 25, excluding membership and certification
Group certification (per student)USD 75, includes both
RetakeUSD 25
Optional review sessionUSD 25 members, USD 50 nonmembers

One mechanic is easy to miss: under group assessment, a student who passes and wants certification must apply for Certification Only within one year. Group certification avoids that extra step because it already includes both pieces.

Annual renewal

CTP renewal is annual. A student membership route is USD 25 for membership plus USD 25 per certification, and a professional membership route is USD 100 plus USD 35 per certification. The initial CTP has no published PDU minimum. For the full cost picture, read CTP Certification Cost: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Who Can Sit the Exam

The current FAQ ties CTP eligibility to passing the exam and being in the final year of a related four-year degree or the second year of a related two-year associate degree. The credential page also addresses graduates of technical programs and notes the credential targets programs without a management component.

The older study guide describes additional routes, such as related-degree holders, teaching or administrative roles, relevant manufacturing or technology employment, and last-semester enrollment verified by an advisor. Whether those broader routes remain open was not confirmed. No fixed training-hour, work-experience-hour or reference-count requirement was verified. Check CTP Requirements and ATMAE's own pages before you commit, and see CTP Exam Dates for scheduling.

CTP vs. CSTP

ATMAE also offers a separate senior designation, the CSTP. It is optional and does not change what you need for the initial CTP.

CSTP requirements at a glance: a current CTP, at least three years of postgraduate professional experience, and 30 PDUs completed during the preceding three years, excluding coursework used for the qualifying degree. Senior maintenance adds 30 PDUs per three-year period to annual dues. The FAQ describes the three years as counting from after initial certification, so the starting point for the experience clock is unresolved between ATMAE's own pages.

Keep these two tracks separate in your planning. Initial CTP has no PDU minimum, and CSTP rules do not define CTP eligibility or renewal.

Pay and Hiring: What Can and Cannot Be Claimed

Many third-party pages promise a salary bump from certification. We found no issuer-verified salary survey of CTP holders and no evidence of a causal pay premium. General occupational salary data for industrial and engineering-technology roles exist, but they describe the occupations, not the credential.

The honest framing is that CTP is an early-career signal for students and new graduates in technology, manufacturing and applied engineering, showing that you have tested knowledge across the ten content areas. It can support applications for manufacturing, quality, maintenance, production and technical roles, but it is not a guaranteed raise. For a balanced look, see CTP Salary Guide, Is the CTP Certification Worth It? and CTP Jobs.

A Domain-Ordered Study Sequence

If you want a simple plan, sequence it by allocation and dependency instead of by generic habit. Math and blueprint skills feed almost every other area, so start there.

Week 1

Applied Mathematics and Blueprint Reading

  • Drill conversions, geometry and trigonometry setups
  • Practice reading views, dimensions and tolerances
  • Tab your printed references as you go
Week 2

Industrial Safety and Quality Control

  • Review hazard control logic and protective practices
  • Learn inspection instruments and basic process control ideas
Week 3

Electricity, Fluid Power and Production

  • Cover circuit fundamentals and component symbols
  • Learn hydraulic and pneumatic basics
  • Review workflow and planning concepts
Week 4

Welding, Machining, Maintenance and timed review

  • Cover processes, machine tools and maintenance logic
  • Take a full timed practice run, simulating the 120-minute limit with printed references only

Finish with timed practice. Our practice test platform is a good place to rehearse the multiple-choice format, and the CTP Pass Rate article explains why no official pass-rate figure exists to benchmark against.

FAQ

Is this the Certified Treasury Professional exam?

No. This cheat sheet covers the Certified Technical Professional credential from ATMAE. The treasury credential comes from a different organization and covers finance topics, not industrial and technology content.

How long is the CTP exam and what is the passing standard?

The written exam is 120 minutes. The credential page requires at least 72 cumulative points. That is a points threshold, not a percentage, and the guide describes composite scoring without a separate pass requirement for each section.

Can I bring books to the CTP exam?

Printed references are permitted, since the exam is open book. Internet and software references are prohibited. Calculator rules were not verified, so confirm them with ATMAE before test day.

How many questions are on the exam?

ATMAE's sources conflict. The current credential page says 150 multiple-choice questions, while the linked study guide says 160. Check the exam registration page for the current format.

What happens if I fail?

Per the FAQ, attempts are unlimited with no waiting period, and each retake costs USD 25. Optional review sessions are also available for a fee.

Use this sheet as a quick-reference companion, then go deeper with the full study guide and the domain-by-domain breakdown. Verify any detail that affects your registration directly with ATMAE, because fees, formats and eligibility rules can change.

Ready to pass your CTP exam?

Put this into practice with free CTP questions across every exam domain.